Ken Cannon awarding the 2024 WAPA Distinguished Service Award to Bill Eckerle at the Spring Meeting in Laramie. 

List of Award Recipients: 

1980 Carling Malouf

1982 Margaret Powers

1984 George Frison

1986 George W. Brox 

2005 Wil Husted

2013 Dan Eakin

2013 Dave Vlceck

2014 Danny Walker

2021 Charles A. Reher 

2023 Robert Kelly 

2024 Bill Eckerle

WAPA Distinguished Service Award


Awards will be presented at the Spring WAPA meeting.

Wyoming Association of Professional Archaeologists
ATTN: WAPA President
Dept. 3431, 1000 East University Ave.
Laramie, WY 82071

This award recognizes WAPA members who have made outstanding contributions to the field of archaeology. These contributions can be made on the local, state, regional, or national level, but preference will be given to those whose contributions were made in Wyoming. Contributions to be considered for the award may include, but are not limited to, significant additions to site documentation records, site protection and conservation, scholarly research and publications, collections management/research, public outreach and education, and service to archaeological organizations.

A written nomination summarizing the contributions of the proposed recipient must be presented with the information requested on the attached nomination form and supported by a brief letter or statement by no less than three WAPA members in good standing. The Executive Committee (EC) shall be free to consider any other names they deem worthy. No previous recipient of this award can be re-nominated.

The nomination form and letters/statements of support are to be submitted to the EC by March 15. Please send the required information to the WAPA President via email (see list of Officers for current email) or post:


Wyoming Association of Professional Archaeologists

‚ÄčThe Wyoming Archaeological Society